European Golden Shoe 2021/22: Lewandowski leads into winter break

The 2021/22 European Golden Shoe race is under way, with the continent’s most prolific goalscorers all vying to win one of football’s most prestigious individual awards.

Bayern striker Robert Lewandowski saw off the challenge of Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo to finish at the top of the European Golden Shoe rankings last season.

Out of contract in 2022: The best free agents available on a Bosman next year

Lewandowski scored an astonishing 41 league goals from 29 appearances, giving him 82 Golden Shoe points and the highest winning score since Ronaldo in 2014/15.

Manchester United star Ronaldo and Messi – who has moved from Barcelona to PSG – both entered the new campaign expecting to challenge again in the standings for the most goals in Europe.

Premier League Golden Boot: Current standings and past winners

Messi’s PSG team-mate Kylian Mbappe and a fellow young star in Erling Haaland were also expected to be in the mix to top the Golden Shoe rankings and take the crown from Lewandowski.

Along with Ronaldo, Romelu Lukaku, Harry Kane and Mohamed Salah started the season as the top Premier League candidates, though surprise winners have also emerged in the past.

Keep an eye on this page throughout the 2021/22 season for regular updates on the European Golden Shoe standings.


Robert Lewandowski holds a strong lead in the standings heading into the wInter break for a number of Europe’s top league’s.

The Bundesliga will resume on January 7, and when it does the Pole will pick back up on a spectacular 19 goals in 17 games, which includes a hat-trick and four braces.

Fellow Bundesliga hitman Patrik Schick is one of Lewandowski’s closest challengers after a three-game spell that produced eight goals at the beginning of December.

The Czech forward is joined on 16 goals by Dusan Vlahovic, who failed to score for Fiorentina in their final match before the Serie A break; a 1-1 draw against Hellas Verona.

Behind them is Mohamed Salah who will be looking to capitalise on those around him taking a couple of weeks off before he goes away on African Cup of Nations duty in January. The Egyptian was unable to add to his tally of 15 Premier League goals as Liverpool‘s match against Leeds on Sunday was postponed.

Karim Benzema gave Real Madrid fans an early Christmas present with both goals in a 2-1 win over Athletic Bilbao. He joins Salah on 15 goals as La Liga takes a week off over the New Year period.

Erling Haaland will look to come out of the break strong as he sits on 13 goals in 11 games, with Giovanni Simeone just behind after a great season for Hellas Verona.

The only other movers around the leading pack were Jonathan David and Wissam Ben Yedder, who moved to 12 and 10 goals in Ligue 1 respectively as they lead the French first division from a number of players on nine.

For the time being our table below tracking the European Golden Shoe standings will only list players from the top five European leagues, where the winner is most likely to emerge from.

Some leagues are much further on in their seasons and the major competitions still have a lot of catching up to do.

Away from those leagues, Olsen Ohi Omoijuanfo of Molde sits top of the overall table for the time being with a remarkable 27 goals from 29 games, while Thomas Lehne has netted 26 times for Norwegian side Lillestrom.

Mikkel Dahl also has 27 for HB Torshavn in the Faroe Islands, but due to the lower coefficient ranking of the league, he sits eighth in the overall Golden Shoe tally.

2021/22 European Golden Shoe

Who are the previous European Golden Shoe winners?

Lionel Messi has won the most European Golden Shoe titles.

The PSG forward has triumphed on six occasions, most recently in 2018/19 for Barcelona.

Cristiano Ronaldo is his closest challenger with four career wins, though the Man Utd attacker has not come out on top since 2014/15 when he was at Real Madrid.

Nine players have two awards apiece, including Luis Suarez and Thierry Henry.

Messi holds the record for most goals and points in a season as well. He remarkably scored 50 goals in 2011/12, earning himself 100 points.

Ronaldo has come closest to breaking that, scoring 48 goals for 96 points when he last won the crown more than six years ago.

Argentina forward Messi is the only player in European Golden Shoe history to win the title three years in a row, doing so from 2016/17 until 2018/19.

Ronaldo, though, is one of only four players to have won the title with different clubs. The others are Luis Suarez, Diego Forlan and Mario Jardel.

Robert Lewandowski became the first Bundesliga winner since 1972 last season, with his 41 goals being the best tally for six seasons.

That came after Ciro Immobile won the 2019/20 European Golden Shoe, scoring 36 goals for Lazio in a tremendous Serie A season.

It was his first title, with the striker becoming the first Serie A player to have the most goals in Europe since Francesco Totti triumphed for Lazio‘s rivals Roma in 2006/07.

Ligue 1 has not produced a winner since Josip Skoblar in 1971, a statistic the likes of Messi and Mbappe are hoping to change soon.

What are the European Golden Shoe rules and weightings?

Only league goals are eligible for the European Golden Shoe, with each strike earning points in a weighted system depending on the quality of league.

The five elite leagues – Premier League, La Liga, Bundesliga, Serie A and Ligue 1 – all carry a weighting of 2, meaning that a player will be awarded two points for every goal they score in these competitions.

For the leagues ranked sixth to 21 in Uefa’s coefficients rankings – which includes the top-flights in Portugal, Netherlands and Russia – goals scored are given a weighting of 1.5, and goals scored in a league outwith the top 21 are given a weighting of 1.

That was not always the case in the European Golden Shoe. From 1968 until 1991, the award simply went to the highest goalscorer on the continent, regardless of the strength of league.

Awards were not initially handed out between 1991 until 1996, when the new system came into force. Since then, only two players playing outside what were the five highest-ranked leagues at the time have ever won the Golden Shoe – Henrik Larsson (2000/01) and Mario Jardel (2001/02).

The Golden Shoe has been tied in the past, most recently when Suarez and Ronaldo shared the honour in 2013/14. Going forward, though, the award will be given to the player who has played the fewest minutes if two of them end up on the same number of points.

This page covers the 2021/22 European Golden Shoe race.

Last season’s standings can be found here and if you want to see the final results for the 2019/20 European Golden Shoe, follow this link.

Share This Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.